Who We are

(as of May 25, 2018)

Chair of HELP

Dr. Han, Seung-soo
Special Envoy of the UN Secretary-General for Disaster Risk Reduction and Water
Former Prime Minister of the Republic of Korea

39th Prime Minister of the Republic of Korea (2008-2009)
Founding Chair, High-Level Expert and Leaders Panel on Water and Disasters (2007~)
Member of the United Nations Secretary-General’s Advisory Board on Water and Sanitation (UNSGAB) (2004~2015)
Chairman of the Global Green Growth Institute (2010~2012)
Special Envoy on Climate Change for the United Nations Secretary-General (2007 – 2008)
President of the 56th session of the United Nations General Assembly, Minister for Foreign Affairs (2001-2002)
Member of the Republic of Korea’s National Assembly (1988-2004)
Special Advisor, High-level Panel on Water (HLPW) (2016-2018)



Vice Chair

Ms. Cora van Nieuwenhuizen
Minister of Infrastructure and Water Management, Kingdom of the Netherland



Dr. Shamshad Akhtar
Executive Secretary, UNESCAP

Ms. Audrey Azoulay
Director General, UNESCO

Mr. Marcos Bonturi
Director for Public Governance, OECD

Dr. Benedito Braga
President, World Water Council

Dr. Basuki Hadimuljono
Minister of Public Works and Housing, Republic of Indonesia

Mr. Isack Aloyce Kamwelwe
President of AMCOW, Minister of Water and Irrigation, Tanzania

Mr. Shinichi Kitaoka
President, JICA, Japan

Dr. Kuntoro Mangkusubroto
Former Head of President’s Delivery Unit for Development Monitoring and Oversight, Republic of Indonesia

Ms. Mami Mizutori
Special Representative of the Secretary-General for Disaster Risk Reduction, UN-ISDR

Dr. Masafumi Mori
Vice-Minister for Engineering Affairs, Ministry of Land, Infrastructure,Transport and Tourism, Japan

Ms. Rosa Pavanelli
General Secretary, Public Services International

Dr. Oyun Sanjaasuren
Chair, Global Water Partnership

Lt. Gen. Todd T. Semonite
Chief of U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Mr. Bambang Susantono
Vice President for Knowledge Management and Sustainable Development, Asian Development Bank

Dr. Petteri Taalas
Secretary-General, World Meteorological Organization



Mr. Rae-kwon Chung
Former Principal Advisor on Climate Change to the Secretary-General of the UN, Climate Change Ambassador of the Republic of Korea

Mr. Loic Fauchon
Honorary President of World Water Council

Dr. Gretchen Kalonji
Dean, Institute for Disaster Management and Reconstruction, Sichuan University

Prof. Toshio Koike
Director, International Centre for Water Hazard and Risk Management (ICHARM)

Mr. Kenji Kanao
President, Japan Water Agency

Dr. Wolfgang Kron
Head of Research for Hydrological Hazards, MunichRe

Mr. Hideaki Oda
Former Co-chair of WG on Water and Disaster, UNSGAB

Dr. Jerome Delli Priscoli
Chair, GWP Technical Committee

Dr. Ursula Schaefer-Preuss
Former Chair, GWP

Dr. Khin Ni Ni Thein
Secretary of the Water Advisory Group and Member of the National Water Resources Committee, Republic of the Union of Myanmar

Mr. Koos Wieriks
Councilor to Ministry of Infrastructure and Water Management, Kingdom of the Netherlands

Mr. Niels Vlaanderen
Directorate-General for Spatial Development and Water Affairs, Ministry of Infrastructure and Water Management, Kingdom of the Netherlands

Mr. Cees van de Guchte
Director, Global Agendas and International Organizations, Deltares



Dr. Kenzo Hiroki
Coordinator of HELP

Dr. Ilpyo Hong
Research Fellow, Korea Institute of Civil Engineering and Building Technology, Korea